Everyday life

Melomakarona

melomakarona1_500

melomakarona4_500

melomakarona2_500

melomakarona3_500

melomakarona5_500

melomakarona6_500

Serve after pouring syrup and sprinkling chopped walnuts↓

img_20161224_102510-592x800

My husband’s mother uses 2kg of flour every year, which produce about 160 melomakarona. To tell the truth, I prefer them without syrup…, so this year I have asked her to set aside a few plain ones for me. (My husband absolutely refuses to even try without syrup.)

What surprised me was, of course, the step where you add ashes. Does anyone know why ashes are part of the ingredients??

Well, this is going to be the last article of 2016. I thank you all who visited my blog this year. I wish everyone a very happy new year!!

 

5 thoughts on “Melomakarona

  1. I think that they used ash before baking soda was invented and it was left as a step becaused it is how they always did the recipe in that family (my family’s recipe does not include ash for example) and/or maybe it changes the taste just so that leaving it out would not be the same.

    Like

Leave a Reply

