Food

Dolmadakia

Last weekend, I made dolmadakia (stuffed grape leaves) for the first time! I had been wanting to try, and I finally gave a try using fresh grape leaves from the laiki.

dolma1

dolma2

dolma3

dolma4

dolma5

IMG_20170513_123650 (600x800)

Once boiled, lower the heat and simmer till cooked (with the lid on) .

IMG_20170513_135059 (600x800)

IMG_20170513_135532 (600x800)

IMG_20170513_140018 (600x800)

I compared different recipes and decided the ingredients and their quantities.

I had 250g of grape leaves (about 60 leaves), but because the filling fell short, I should have put 1.5-2 cups of rice.

Actually, I tried again this weekend, and I put 1.5 cups of rice. However, the leaves were smaller this time, so I had to unwrap some again to stuff the remaining filling. It’s difficult to measure the right amount… :(

2 thoughts on “Dolmadakia

  1. Hello! I have just found out your blog. I really like it and find your drawings so cute! :D At first, congratulations for trying to make dolmadakia! Judging by the pictures, I’d say you made them very good. It’s my favorite dish, but I have cooked it only one time. It requires a lot of time and work and I am a bit lazy when it comes to cooking. My mum makes them but she also finds it hard to spent so much time in cooking. On the other hand, my mother in law finds it very easy to cook dolmadakia . I have asked her to cook me dolmadakia when I went to my home country for vacation and she also prepared me some for the airplane. I was so delighted. They are best eaten with a pinch of lemon and yogurt.
    I wish the best for you and your family!

    Like

Leave a Reply

